Cours Saleya

Rue Saint Francois de Paule 06300 Nice

Built on the ramparts dismantled in the early 18th century, Cours Saleya, a pedestrian area in the heart of Old Nice, has become a picturesque part of the city, a must for tourist and locals alike.In this rectilinear baroque ochre setting, the flower and vegetable markets (in the 100 most picturesque market in France) are held every day except Monday, when they are replaced by an antiques market, provide a feast for the eyes and a delight for the taste buds.On summer evenings, tourists take advantage of the pleasant arts

Colline du Chateau

Quai des Etats Unis 06300 Nice

The “Castle Hill” was the site chosen by the Phocaean Greeks to set up their trading-post and thus found the City of Nice several thousand years ago.The site of the first town founded by the ancient Greeks, then the first mediaeval town, today’s Castle Hill (Colline du Château) has preserved only a few foundations and fragments of walls; but this park and botanical garden offers unique vistas over Nice and its surroundings, a surprising artificial waterfall, remains of the former 11th-century Cathedral, walkways paved with colourful 20th-century mosaics... Access: by lift (Cours Saleya) or on foot along rue Rossetti, Montée Monica-Rondelly and rue Catherine Ségurane

Promenade des Anglais

Nice owes this route its international standing!This famous seaside road is always elegantly decorated with flowers and follows the harmonious curve of Baie des Anges. Originally a footpath no more than 6 feet wide, it was widened by an Englishman, Reverend Lewis Way, at his expense in 1820 and the local population soon dubbed it ‘Chemin des Anglais’. In 1931, when it was given its final form with two roadways separated by a central reservation planted with palm trees, the ‘Prom’ was inaugurated by the Duke of Connaught, one of Queen Victoria’s sons.

Palais Lascaris

15, rue Droite 06300 Nice

Tel 04 93 62 72 40

Free admission - Guided tour on Friday at 3 pm.

Opening times : 10:00-18:00. Weekly closing : Tuesday and some holidays

Decorated in the Genoese baroque style, the Palais Lascaris has kept its monumental staircase adorned with murals and luxuriously decorated rooms. An apothecary’s shop, founded in Besançon in 1738, was transferred to the ground floor. Upstairs the staterooms and main apartments occupy the first floor. There is also an impressive collection of old musical instruments which trace an important part of the history of music.

Cathédrale Sainte Reparate

Place Rosseti – 06300 Nice

Tel 04 93 92 01 35

This church, which became a Cathedral in the 16th century, is the largest sanctuary in Old Nice.Inspired by early Baroque architectural models from Rome, the structure has a basilical layout; with a triple nave and a transept. The decoration of the side chapels and choir is particularly sumptuous and the interior reflects the influence of Saint Peter’s of Rome.

The Opera

4 / 6 rue Saint Francois de Paule

06300 Nice

Tel 04 92 17 40 00

Located in Old Nice and across from the sea and perfectly integrated in the urban fabric, the Opéra de Nice was built on the site of the previous theatre, destroyed by fire.

Promenade du Paillon

Opening times : 7:00-21:00 (01/10-31/03)

                             7:00-23:00 (01/04-30/09).

A true green path: there is a 12-hectare park right in the heart of the city, connecting the Museum of Modern Art and Contemporary Art (MAMAC) to the Théâtre de Verdure and the Promenade des Anglais. This vast garden will also be available for events (e.g. art exhibitions, fun activities and large scale events, etc.)

Place Masséna

Built in the 1840s, Place Masséna remains the jewel of Nice.On the north side, elegant arcaded buildings are painted with the famous Pompeian red and to the East, there is a splendid perspective on the hills with their Tuscan charm. The square was renovated in 2007, accompanied by the installation of artworks along the tramway: seven statues devised by the Spanish artist Jaume Plensa, titled ‘Conversation in Nice’ and representing the seven continents.

Place Garibaldi

The first extension of Old Nice northward, Place Garibaldi today is lined by elegant red façades with green shutters and vaulted porticoes, in which the Blue Penitents’ chapel, Chapelle du Saint-Sépulcre, is perfectly integrated.A statue of Giuseppe Garibaldi stands in the middle of this square that is central to the life of the city.

Palais de la Prefecture

1 Place du Plais de Justice 06300 Nice

The palace of the Dukes of Savoy in the 17th century, a hospital during the French Revolution and the Prefecture when Nice became French in 1860, this building has been renovated several times.Today, after having had different functions, the Palais de la Préfecture is the home of the Préfet of the Alpes-Maritimes department and remains an essential landmark in Old Nice.



Crédit Photo : D.R.

Cimetière du Monastère de Cimiez

Avenue du Monastère 06000 NiceBUS 17 – Stop « Monastère Cimiez »

Raoul Dufy, Roger Martin du Gard and Henri Matisse are buried in this cemetery which has many surprising monuments in memory of the departed.

Chapelle de la Miséricorde

Cours Saleya 06300 Nice

Tel 04 92 00 41 90

Built after 1740 and designed by the famous architect Bernardo Vittone, the chapel has an elliptical nave, with semicircular side chapels.The wealth of the decoration inside, the originality of its volumes and the murals by Bistolfi make this a genuine gem of Baroque art, with exceptionally rich architecture.

Basilique Notre Dame

Av Jean Medecin 06000 Nice

Tel 04 93 88 73 63

Tramway T1 – Las Planas – Pont Michel : Stop « Jean Medecin »

The largest church in Nice and the first modern religious structure, the basilica of Notre-Dame was built after Nice became French (1864-1868).Inspired by the Cathedral of Angers with its two square towers, it is adorned with 19th-century stained-glass windows and a sumptuous rose window with scenes of the Assumption.

Villa Ephrussi de Rotschild - St Jean Cap Ferrat

06230 Saint Jean Cap Ferrat

Tél : 04 93 01 33 09

open every day from 10 a.m to 6 p.m / July and August: from 10 a.m to 7 p.m

Full rate: € 13

Offers for families: free entry for the second child aged 7 to 17 when two adults and one child entries have been bought

The Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild overlooks the Bay of Villefranche and the Bay of Beaulieu. It is located 10 kilometres from Nice and Monaco and 800 metres from the Villa Kérylos.

By road: access by the lower cliff road (RD6098). A free car-park is available on the site.

By bus: lines 81, "Plage du passage" stop.

By train: Beaulieu-sur-Mer station

Villa Kerylos

Impasse Gustave Eiffel 06310 Beaulieu-sur-Mer

Tel.: +33 4 93 01 01 44

open every day from 10 a.m to 6 p.m / July and August: from 10 a.m to 7 p.m

Full rate: € 11,5

Offers for families: free entry for the second child aged 7 to 17 when two adults and one child entries have been bought.

Villa Kérylos is located 10 kilometres from Nice and Monaco, 800 metres from the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild and 9 minutes from the SNCF train station in Beaulieu.

By road: access by the lower cliff road (RD 6098). A car-park is available near the city hall.

By bus: lines 81 "Kerylos" stop and 100 "Eglise" stop.

By train: Beaulieu-sur-Mer station

Please reload